Home » CHIT-CHAT » Life » Writing Challenge : What’s in a (my) name?

Writing Challenge : What’s in a (my) name?

I had a nickname until I was 5, when mom n dad suddenly decided to change our names. I transformed to Tania and my brother suggested his name “Dennis” from the popular Dennis the Menace comics.

I do not remember the details of my early childhood and whether the name brought any impact or luck to me. But later on, I just loved my name so much because the name Tania gave me personality. I couldn’t think of any other name that would represent me so well like Tania. At random occasions, people would compliment me by saying “Nice name” and my head would rise involuntarily with a great feeling of pride.

But there were times when my name was misspelled so brutally like Taniya, Thaniya, Tanya, Thanya. It was a definite whistle blower for me. I gradually almost became obsessed with how my name must be spelled even if it was written on a rough paper.

Over the phone, giving out my name was at times difficult as people especially from my community often hears “Dhaniya” and enunciating the name over the phone with my mouth twisted in different angles often becomes a joke within my loved ones. My mom on one occasion gave me a special class on how I should pronounce my name as she felt I sounded too gruff over the phone.

Anyways, to end this post on a lighter note, I came across this fantastic quote :

Always end the name of your child with a vowel, so that when you yell the name will carry ~ Bill Cosby

So true… So true… 😉

One thought on “Writing Challenge : What’s in a (my) name?

Leave a Reply

