Home » STORIES » Short Stories » Writing Challenge

Writing Challenge

Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes

I came across this blog on weekly writing challenges by TheDailyPost which I have found to be quite intriguing.

MY TAKE ON THE PICTURE 

CardinalGuzman

PhotoCredits : CardinalGuzman.wordpress.com

 My eyes surf the ceiling while I anxiously wait for the doctor as she examines me.

“The cervix has dilated but it’s not time”, the doctor tells to my husband as she left.

A sudden surge of contraction rocks my body violently and I cried out involuntarily.

I felt the room was closing on me and felt a pang of terror to the untraveled path of labour. I have heard so many stories of how painful it is and how labour pain can last for hours.

I guess my husband felt my fear; he gently took my hand and slowly caressed my head, whispering that everything will be fine.

The contractions immediately came on me like a cold wave, literally taking my breath away. I felt this one was different and I frantically look towards my husband and screamed “I want EPIDURAL !!!”

Everything else was a blur, until I heard a feeble cry.

As soon as I laid my eyes on the little one, I realized that all those hours of labour pain was worth every second.

For more information on the weekly challenge, please click the following link,  http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/03/writing-challenge-threes/

Happy writing !!

14 thoughts on “Writing Challenge

  1. Pingback: Alleppy Trip | Wired With Words

  2. Pingback: rain [a small collection of haikus] | Ramisa the Authoress

  3. Pingback: Seven Icicles, Part Two | Stealing All the Sevens

  4. Pingback: No one saw the mirage but me | litadoolan

  5. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge – Threes | Joe's Musings

  6. Pingback: WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE: THREES | Words We Women Write

  7. Pingback: The 4th of March 2014 – The Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall, Washington, D.C. | Forgotten Correspondance

  8. Pingback: The Lake at Cwm Symlog calls to me… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  9. Pingback: Thanks to Those Who Wrote | Cardinal Guzman

  10. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Threes | The Wandering Poet

  11. Pingback: Threes: A letter to my baby – Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

Leave a Reply

