Home » CHIT-CHAT » Diary of a Die-Hard Foodie

Diary of a Die-Hard Foodie

“You don’t have to cook fancy or complicated masterpieces – just good food from fresh ingredients.”  – Julia Child

Dear Diary,

I never knew that I would end up writing a MORAL STORY FOR EVERY CULINARY ADVENTURE. My last week was quite eventful since I had a lot to learn. I tried to reinvent and refurbished some common simple recipes into culinary “so-called-masterpieces” ( LOL ).

Day 1

I tried out Brussels sprouts for the first time. As soon as I dropped the sprouts in hot olive oil, the house smelt like heaven. The fragrance was too indulgent and mouthwatering.

MORAL : Do not overcook the Brussels sprouts – it becomes taste-less. It must be crunchy !!

Brussels sprouts accompanied with hearty boiled eggs and bread

Brussels sprouts accompanied with hearty boiled eggs and bread

Day 2

Sometimes I think the only thing that prevents me from being a perfect dieter will be Noodles. To top off the indulgent “maggi” – pair it with eggs. To pardon myself for my indulgent damnation – I threw in some sauteed zucchini for the extra crunch factor.

MORAL : Always cook the eggs at the end. You dont want your eggs to be cold and soggy.

Maggi Noodles and Egg with Zucchini

Maggi Noodles and Egg with Zucchini

Day 3

Now I was addicted to Brussels sprouts and I would put it in almost everything. Today I had made pasta with cherry tomatoes, Brussels sprouts and reinvented the garlic bread with Arabic bread. A pseudo-Italian way of having pasta .

MORAL : Always use fresh garlic and not powered garlic. You end up with “garlic” fingers for the whole week.

Farfalle pasta with cherry tomatoes, brussels sprouts and garlic bread

Farfalle pasta with cherry tomatoes, brussels sprouts and garlic bread

Day 4

I have a confession and I know you would have figured it out….. I love pasta and if I have to eat it everyday of my life I would gladly do so. Today I made pasta with turkey sausage, cherry tomatoes, capsicum and tomato sauce. It was a beautiful spread of sauce on that white pasta. I would have preferred wheat.

MORAL : It is better to mix the pasta and sauce before serving else if you are a messy eater you will end up cleaning your living room couch and yourself.

Fusilli with sausage + Red sauce

Fusilli with sausage + Red sauce

Day 5

I found this new “breed” of pasta. This multi-vegetable ( multi-color)  pasta is definitely a must-try-it-out-yourself fad. A succulent bologonese sauce with shredded aubergine . Splendid !!!

MORAL : Adding more veggies will only heighten the taste of pasta. Nothing can replace that !

Multi-vegetable Fusilli

Multi-vegetable Fusilli

Day 6

Potato Stuffing – Long task but was worth it. Stuffed potato with sour cream and chives. Yes, that is mozzarelllllla (ooh la la) cheese.

MORAL : Make sure the potatoes are cooled before you scoop out the potato if you don’t have time – always keep a batch of ice to cool off your blistered fingers.

Stuffed potatoes

Stuffed potatoes

Day 7

Bruschetta with garlic sauce, feta stuffed chilies and mozzarella cheese with hummus dipping

MORAL : You wont require any dipping once you see these hot babes popping out from the oven…. Nice and crispy

Bruschetta - Snack Away

Bruschetta – Snack Away

 

So what have I earned after all these lessons ??? A big dipper badge slapped right across my arm !

A Big Dipper Badge ! 😉

 

Leave a Reply

